South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Gauteng / B / GT481

Mogale City

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 4,6B2024/25
Reported revenueR 4,5BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage0,147 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 04

Short cash runway

Year-end cash covered less than one month of reported operating expenditure. Review the financial statements for context.

Evidence note 05

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 3,6BR 3,5B
2023/24R 3,9BR 4,1B
2024/25R 4,6BR 4,5B

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 1 462 145 505,00
Water DistributionR 899 660 834,00
FinanceR 277 307 877,00
Risk ManagementR 248 444 862,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 216 204 392,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 198 464 274,00
Security ServicesR 152 636 654,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 133 054 719,00
SewerageR 127 450 624,00
Human ResourcesR 74 004 831,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 73 322 842,00
Mayor and CouncilR 71 729 766,00
Storm Water ManagementR 63 679 607,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 53 569 141,00
Legal ServicesR 50 856 237,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 50 716 517,00
Information TechnologyR 48 554 313,00
Population DevelopmentR 41 590 919,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 37 941 263,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 36 495 657,00
Fleet ManagementR 33 361 050,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 31 498 452,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 24 641 148,00
Development FacilitationR 22 644 211,00
HousingR 21 714 868,00
Property ServicesR 17 946 808,00
Pollution ControlR 16 694 659,00
Valuation ServiceR 15 666 670,00
Governance FunctionR 13 346 290,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 10 317 653,00
Project Management UnitR 9 312 916,00
TourismR 7 826 640,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 6 503 228,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 6 068 751,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 443 597,00
Public ToiletsR 943 663,00
Nature ConservationR 72 809,00
Cultural MattersR 11 671,00
Street Cleaning-R 11 119,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage0,147 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-1,563%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.