South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN223

Mpofana

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 270,6M2024/25
Reported revenueR 150,2MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage42,802 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 279MR 159,9M
2023/24R 301,8MR 204,2M
2024/25R 270,6MR 150,2M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/2413,011%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 124 640 761,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 38 062 801,00
FinanceR 23 126 425,00
RoadsR 21 715 795,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 16 931 280,00
Mayor and CouncilR 7 238 971,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 5 536 592,00
Regional Planning and DevelopmentR 5 326 579,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 4 490 250,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 4 266 903,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 4 140 063,00
Licensing and RegulationR 3 518 487,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 258 097,00
Project Management UnitR 1 913 225,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 1 887 243,00
Population DevelopmentR 1 414 156,00
Disaster ManagementR 982 476,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 923 137,00
Museums and Art GalleriesR 478 499,00
Fleet ManagementR 450 023,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 178 052,00
Animal Care and DiseasesR 94 500,00
EducationR 31 946,00
Asset ManagementR 20 200,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 18 354,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2012/13

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2010/11

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage42,802 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-80,176%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.