South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN271

Umhlabuyalingana

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 318,3M2024/25
Reported revenueR 307,9MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,828 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 271,8MR 257,1M
2023/24R 348,9MR 279,4M
2024/25R 318,3MR 307,9M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
Mayor and CouncilR 34 908 087,00
FinanceR 33 264 630,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 29 445 070,00
Asset ManagementR 28 951 829,00
RoadsR 24 579 906,00
Security ServicesR 21 415 818,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 21 025 933,00
Fleet ManagementR 19 044 572,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 17 882 875,00
Human ResourcesR 12 871 399,00
ElectricityR 12 428 573,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 11 662 069,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 11 032 850,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 9 910 138,00
Disaster ManagementR 6 740 656,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 4 213 998,00
Street CleaningR 3 680 946,00
Governance FunctionR 3 280 766,00
Central City Improvement DistrictR 2 336 069,00
Information TechnologyR 2 248 778,00
Legal ServicesR 2 074 086,00
Project Management UnitR 1 361 647,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 1 172 981,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 1 003 295,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 746 160,00
Water DistributionR 384 990,00
Cultural MattersR 377 200,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 204 987,00
EducationR 67 850,00
AgriculturalR 58 425,00
Child Care FacilitiesR 25 000,00
Property ServicesR 20 177,00
Solid Waste Removal-R 93 692,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,828 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-3,374%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.