South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN281

Mfolozi

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 263,2M2024/25
Reported revenueR 254,9MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage17,864 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 236,4MR 208,6M
2023/24R 258,7MR 242,4M
2024/25R 263,2MR 254,9M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 39 974 136,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 37 872 640,00
Mayor and CouncilR 24 493 479,00
FinanceR 22 890 757,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 14 516 279,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 13 817 095,00
Fleet ManagementR 11 103 283,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 10 414 026,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 9 277 291,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 8 510 316,00
Asset ManagementR 7 738 862,00
Security ServicesR 7 688 221,00
ElectricityR 6 349 990,00
Human ResourcesR 6 210 641,00
Information TechnologyR 6 004 915,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 5 928 576,00
Project Management UnitR 5 923 636,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 4 759 081,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 4 571 380,00
SewerageR 3 528 119,00
Property ServicesR 2 316 955,00
Risk ManagementR 2 179 406,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 1 858 278,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 1 207 471,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 202 858,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 791 228,00
Disaster ManagementR 572 957,00
Street CleaningR 381 900,00
Cultural MattersR 314 965,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 192 107,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 143 000,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 135 334,00
Development FacilitationR 98 517,00
Water DistributionR 97 599,00
Nature ConservationR 37 940,00
Health ServicesR 30 753,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 28 311,00
Water StorageR 23 110,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 23 000,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 20 952,00
Beaches and JettiesR 6 600,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage17,864 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-3,272%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.