South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Kwazulu-Natal / B / KZN293

Ndwedwe

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 298,8M2024/25
Reported revenueR 262,7MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage23,189 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 230,3MR 220,3M
2023/24R 282,2MR 249,6M
2024/25R 298,8MR 262,7M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 72 025 052,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 36 445 024,00
Asset ManagementR 24 773 675,00
RoadsR 22 827 257,00
Mayor and CouncilR 20 820 844,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 16 436 976,00
ElectricityR 12 656 743,00
Human ResourcesR 12 468 922,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 9 147 338,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 8 100 130,00
Fleet ManagementR 6 528 587,00
Governance FunctionR 5 797 082,00
Street CleaningR 5 517 641,00
Information TechnologyR 5 320 232,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 5 070 611,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 4 665 169,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 4 598 416,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 4 589 578,00
Disaster ManagementR 4 494 050,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 3 371 689,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 2 957 039,00
Legal ServicesR 2 915 267,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 2 580 765,00
Project Management UnitR 2 460 990,00
Risk ManagementR 1 148 336,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 1 044 790,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage23,189 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-13,741%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.