South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Limpopo / B / LIM368

Modimolle-Mookgopong

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

42,5 / 100Financial pressure

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,6B2024/25
Reported revenueR 843,3MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio2,202%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,428 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23Not reportedNot reported
2023/24R 1,2BR 1,5B
2024/25R 1,6BR 843,3M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/241,208%
2024/252,202%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 690 487 593,00
ElectricityR 389 100 406,00
RoadsR 86 429 792,00
Water DistributionR 79 655 257,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 47 519 174,00
Human ResourcesR 37 227 952,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 35 944 676,00
SewerageR 34 953 021,00
Legal ServicesR 33 020 681,00
Mayor and CouncilR 21 918 975,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 15 138 983,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 14 601 617,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 12 547 063,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 12 343 729,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 11 041 315,00
Information TechnologyR 8 117 039,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 7 505 655,00
Governance FunctionR 7 123 857,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 6 125 693,00
Project Management UnitR 5 166 799,00
Licensing and RegulationR 4 974 493,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 4 906 996,00
Storm Water ManagementR 4 752 478,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 4 609 170,00
Water StorageR 4 039 798,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 3 073 811,00
Property ServicesR 1 763 176,00
Asset ManagementR 1 301 645,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Adverse opinion

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance2,202%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,428 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-88,006%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.