South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Mpumalanga / B / MP301

Albert Luthuli

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureNot reported2024/25
Reported revenueR 744,9MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio1,228%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverageNot reportedLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 726MR 579,2M
2023/24R 703,5MR 627,2M
2024/25Not reportedR 744,9M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/232,503%
2023/241,755%
2024/251,228%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 194 230 484,00
FinanceR 92 497 829,00
Water DistributionR 89 393 819,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 82 387 290,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 66 489 273,00
Mayor and CouncilR 60 318 597,00
RoadsR 39 535 715,00
Civil DefenceR 30 115 677,00
Project Management UnitR 19 880 675,00
Information TechnologyR 18 136 247,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 17 066 884,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 16 873 673,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 13 232 200,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 12 287 935,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 11 010 684,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 10 528 035,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 9 310 963,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 7 225 816,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 4 273 794,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 2 794 373,00
Governance FunctionR 2 601 364,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 2 549 133,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 2 437 577,00
Asset ManagementR 2 288 934,00
Water TreatmentR 1 950 401,00
Risk ManagementR 1 838 058,00
Disaster ManagementR 1 304 940,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 703 273,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 3 500,00
SewerageR 0,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance1,228%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverageNot reportedYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balanceNot reportedRevenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.