Audit not available
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | R 5,6B | R 3,7B |
| 2023/24 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024/25 | R 7B | R 5B |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | 2,865% |
| 2023/24 | Not reported |
| 2024/25 | 5,806% |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Electricity | R 3 094 906 429,00 |
| Finance | R 1 057 718 515,00 |
| Water Distribution | R 756 630 350,00 |
| Waste Water Treatment | R 387 268 538,00 |
| Water Treatment | R 272 488 112,00 |
| Sewerage | R 239 885 856,00 |
| Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites) | R 206 635 100,00 |
| Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking Control | R 202 445 140,00 |
| Solid Waste Removal | R 149 142 582,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 101 923 404,00 |
| Roads | R 94 771 354,00 |
| Fire Fighting and Protection | R 81 277 374,00 |
| Fleet Management | R 54 431 416,00 |
| Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City Engineer | R 43 560 589,00 |
| Legal Services | R 39 313 537,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 36 524 183,00 |
| Human Resources | R 31 611 312,00 |
| Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and Crematoriums | R 28 895 746,00 |
| Risk Management | R 28 091 829,00 |
| Sports Grounds and Stadiums | R 28 043 266,00 |
| Information Technology | R 23 727 471,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 19 978 982,00 |
| Libraries and Archives | R 17 968 458,00 |
| Project Management Unit | R 17 269 691,00 |
| Informal Settlements | R 15 812 407,00 |
| Regional Planning and Development | R 14 260 295,00 |
| Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs) | R 8 258 578,00 |
| Property Services | R 6 971 782,00 |
| Markets | R 6 411 610,00 |
| Biodiversity and Landscape | R 5 425 133,00 |
| Licensing and Regulation | R 4 241 210,00 |
| Aged Care | R 2 238 212,00 |
| Community Halls and Facilities | R 769 005,00 |
| Community Parks (including Nurseries) | R 574,00 |
| Economic Development/Planning | -R 7 491 178,00 |
| Water Storage | -R 64 581 057,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | 5,806% | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 1,021 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | -39,947% | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |