Evidence has limits
A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | R 89,8M | R 72,7M |
| 2023/24 | R 94M | R 76,6M |
| 2024/25 | R 94,2M | R 81,6M |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | 0,39% |
| 2023/24 | 0,377% |
| 2024/25 | Not reported |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Finance | R 25 600 133,00 |
| Electricity | R 23 609 008,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 8 853 289,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 7 779 099,00 |
| Sewerage | R 5 734 211,00 |
| Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites) | R 5 537 571,00 |
| Water Distribution | R 4 757 926,00 |
| Solid Waste Removal | R 4 446 490,00 |
| Roads | R 3 913 986,00 |
| Libraries and Archives | R 1 347 590,00 |
| Community Parks (including Nurseries) | R 954 092,00 |
| Property Services | R 804 577,00 |
| Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City Engineer | R 797 687,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 74 444,00 |
| Fire Fighting and Protection | R 17 160,00 |
| Water Treatment | R 358,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | Not reported | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 10,993 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | -15,488% | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |