South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC073

Emthanjeni

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

37,4 / 100Financial pressure

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 492,2M2024/25
Reported revenueR 296MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio0,984%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage8,053 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 02

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23Not reportedNot reported
2023/24R 376MR 327,7M
2024/25R 492,2MR 296M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/240,12%
2024/250,984%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
FinanceR 172 512 072,00
ElectricityR 134 282 387,00
Water DistributionR 28 764 640,00
Mayor and CouncilR 21 528 520,00
SewerageR 20 526 032,00
RoadsR 20 347 766,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 19 176 431,00
Property ServicesR 10 786 735,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 9 839 675,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 9 590 287,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 9 460 738,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 8 259 493,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 4 551 004,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 4 361 047,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 4 328 982,00
Project Management UnitR 4 006 475,00
HousingR 3 038 445,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 2 536 910,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 2 101 871,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 1 387 659,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 1 380 821,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 996 949,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 454 481,00
Governance FunctionR 99 002,00
TourismR 4 010,00
Human Resources-R 2 073 670,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2019/20

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Unqualified - Emphasis of Matter items

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance0,984%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage8,053 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-66,29%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.