South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC078

Siyancuma

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 288,1M2024/25
Reported revenueR 219,6MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-10,834 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 04

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 206,4MR 181,6M
2023/24R 265,5MR 249,2M
2024/25R 288,1MR 219,6M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 89 375 660,00
FinanceR 65 848 011,00
Water DistributionR 32 086 739,00
SewerageR 26 007 494,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 22 939 107,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 16 353 714,00
RoadsR 16 088 306,00
Mayor and CouncilR 9 177 036,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 2 075 001,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 2 041 310,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 1 845 810,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 1 244 871,00
Property ServicesR 896 680,00
Valuation ServiceR 870 544,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 543 089,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 395 450,00
Water TreatmentR 198 815,00
Information TechnologyR 82 175,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 24 797,00
Asset ManagementR 20 813,00
Health ServicesR 56,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-10,834 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-31,172%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.