South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC082

!Kai! Garib

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 576,7M2024/25
Reported revenueR 343,1MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-14,917 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 04

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23Not reportedNot reported
2023/24Not reportedNot reported
2024/25R 576,7MR 343,1M

Maintenance over time

No reported values are available for this chart.

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 154 163 182,00
FinanceR 123 401 697,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 52 851 002,00
Water DistributionR 47 292 673,00
Asset ManagementR 46 017 082,00
RoadsR 28 496 314,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 26 512 218,00
Human ResourcesR 15 149 629,00
Mayor and CouncilR 13 585 010,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 10 558 169,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 7 958 083,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 5 390 535,00
Security ServicesR 4 895 190,00
Disaster ManagementR 4 665 807,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 4 622 082,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 385 813,00
Information TechnologyR 4 296 984,00
HousingR 3 409 570,00
SewerageR 3 354 443,00
Project Management UnitR 3 261 012,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 2 639 024,00
Governance FunctionR 2 488 583,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 2 025 338,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 1 988 268,00
Risk ManagementR 1 556 912,00
Property ServicesR 937 734,00
TourismR 616 597,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 140 706,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2016/17

Qualified

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-14,917 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-68,086%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.