South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Northern Cape / B / NC451

Joe Morolong

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureNot reported2024/25
Reported revenueR 336,5MRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio1,001%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverageNot reportedLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 388,8MR 286,5M
2023/24R 501,6MR 345,7M
2024/25Not reportedR 336,5M

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/241,517%
2024/251,001%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
RoadsR 103 928 152,00
Water DistributionR 85 636 607,00
FinanceR 68 354 613,00
Property ServicesR 55 191 398,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 39 035 248,00
Mayor and CouncilR 25 867 661,00
ElectricityR 22 524 761,00
Fleet ManagementR 20 708 806,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 14 928 729,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 10 494 122,00
Human ResourcesR 10 169 566,00
Information TechnologyR 8 119 644,00
Project Management UnitR 4 995 206,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 4 954 688,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 3 293 025,00
Pollution ControlR 2 382 733,00
Governance FunctionR 2 001 181,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 1 970 179,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 1 677 991,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 1 617 916,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 1 540 988,00
Risk ManagementR 1 463 532,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 1 446 230,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 1 215 404,00
Asset ManagementR 1 062 579,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 519 654,00
Valuation ServiceR 0,00
Sewerage-R 693 618,00
Housing-R 40 032 616,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance1,001%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverageNot reportedYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balanceNot reportedRevenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.