Audit not available
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.
The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.
Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.
| Financial year | Expenditure | Revenue |
|---|---|---|
| 2022/23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023/24 | R 732,5M | R 673,4M |
| 2024/25 | R 785,8M | R 673M |
| Financial year | Maintenance ratio |
|---|---|
| 2022/23 | Not reported |
| 2023/24 | 3,31% |
| 2024/25 | 3,796% |
Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.
| Category | Expenditure |
|---|---|
| Electricity | R 264 192 089,00 |
| Finance | R 114 737 885,00 |
| Water Distribution | R 77 412 181,00 |
| Community Halls and Facilities | R 41 274 325,00 |
| Sewerage | R 39 314 039,00 |
| Community Parks (including Nurseries) | R 36 298 788,00 |
| Administrative and Corporate Support | R 32 373 290,00 |
| Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief Executive | R 20 842 993,00 |
| Solid Waste Removal | R 20 527 198,00 |
| Roads | R 17 686 073,00 |
| Disaster Management | R 17 555 928,00 |
| Road and Traffic Regulation | R 13 744 416,00 |
| Information Technology | R 13 618 591,00 |
| Human Resources | R 13 504 849,00 |
| Mayor and Council | R 11 855 489,00 |
| Fleet Management | R 10 510 848,00 |
| Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City Engineer | R 10 057 391,00 |
| Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs) | R 7 644 436,00 |
| Libraries and Archives | R 6 808 123,00 |
| Valuation Service | R 5 627 094,00 |
| Water Storage | R 3 849 393,00 |
| Project Management Unit | R 3 211 550,00 |
| Housing | R 2 552 202,00 |
| Storm Water Management | R 586 217,00 |
An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.
| Indicator | Reported value | What it tells you | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repairs and maintenance | 3,796% | Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review. | |
| Cash coverage | 11,668 months | Year-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months. | |
| Operating balance | -16,764% | Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue. |