South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
North West / B / NW405

J B Marks

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Insufficient evidence

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 2,6B2024/25
Reported revenueR 2,3BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratioNot reportedRepairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage4,558 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 02

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Evidence note 03

Operating deficit

Reported annual operating expenditure exceeded revenue excluding capital transfers. This financial pressure is distinct from proof of service failure.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23R 2,1BR 1,8B
2023/24R 2,7BR 1,8B
2024/25R 2,6BR 2,3B

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23-7,535%
2023/24-6,909%
2024/25Not reported

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 1 161 934 279,00
Water DistributionR 317 177 918,00
FinanceR 249 408 555,00
Civil DefenceR 102 735 472,00
Mayor and CouncilR 80 574 066,00
SewerageR 72 221 676,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 56 551 849,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 55 194 037,00
RoadsR 52 701 403,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 52 052 090,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 44 951 097,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 40 749 763,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 34 049 446,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 34 030 028,00
Valuation ServiceR 33 540 201,00
Human ResourcesR 24 754 064,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 20 585 097,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 19 660 061,00
Information TechnologyR 19 390 593,00
Asset ManagementR 18 993 609,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 11 954 764,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 11 113 850,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 10 294 228,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 9 881 004,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 8 739 180,00
Laboratory ServicesR 3 218 930,00
Property ServicesR 2 767 806,00
Literacy ProgrammesR 2 730 425,00
Governance FunctionR 2 436 182,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 2 285 999,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 1 941 244,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 1 297 663,00
Public ToiletsR 1 158 623,00
Storm Water ManagementR 579 379,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 360 595,00
Legal ServicesR 158 087,00
Air TransportR 99 008,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2022/23

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2020/21

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2018/19

Qualified

Source link unavailable
2016/17

Disclaimer of opinion

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenanceNot reportedAudited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage4,558 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance-12,308%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.