South Africa’s municipal finances, made public /Read our methodology
Municipality directory
Western Cape / B / WC032

Overstrand

A closer look at the financial evidence behind your local government.

Review source values

Financial resilience: a transparent indicator of financial position. Understand the calculation

Reported expenditureR 1,8B2024/25
Reported revenueR 2BRevenue is not necessarily cash collected
Maintenance ratio7,664%Repairs and maintenance relative to the asset base
Cash coverage-2,71 monthsLiquidity indicator
Evidence note 01

Review source values

Reported asset values, cash or the repairs-to-asset ratio triggered a quality check. An unusual asset base or a source classification change may explain this. Raw arithmetic remains visible; the resilience score is withheld.

Evidence note 02

Evidence has limits

A resilience score requires all three comparable financial inputs and a source-quality check. Missing or flagged values stay unavailable.

Evidence note 03

Audit not available

The local dataset contains no audit opinion for 2025. This does not mean a clean audit or a failed audit.

Historical context

Follow the financial trajectory.

Revenue & expenditure

Nominal ZAR · Financial-year end
View exact figures
Financial yearExpenditureRevenue
2022/23Not reportedNot reported
2023/24R 1,8BR 1,8B
2024/25R 1,8BR 2B

Maintenance over time

View exact figures
Financial yearMaintenance ratio
2022/23Not reported
2023/247,022%
2024/257,664%

Where expenditure goes

Eight largest reported categories are shown individually. All remaining reported categories are summed as “Other”; the exact data table lists each source category.

View exact figures
CategoryExpenditure
ElectricityR 584 457 566,00
RoadsR 131 726 252,00
Water TreatmentR 88 185 642,00
FinanceR 85 549 481,00
HousingR 84 637 651,00
SewerageR 80 266 206,00
Water DistributionR 68 775 844,00
Solid Waste RemovalR 48 755 677,00
Mayor and CouncilR 45 671 142,00
Solid Waste Disposal (Landfill Sites)R 45 382 473,00
Waste Water TreatmentR 45 191 545,00
Administrative and Corporate SupportR 43 097 258,00
Fire Fighting and ProtectionR 42 677 768,00
Police Forces, Traffic and Street Parking ControlR 41 287 700,00
Community Parks (including Nurseries)R 34 132 727,00
Control of Public NuisancesR 29 326 828,00
Information TechnologyR 27 763 271,00
Civil DefenceR 27 031 248,00
Biodiversity and LandscapeR 24 901 330,00
Town Planning, Building Regulations and Enforcement, and City EngineerR 23 984 021,00
Property ServicesR 21 802 580,00
Municipal Manager, Town Secretary and Chief ExecutiveR 21 450 454,00
Storm Water ManagementR 19 280 553,00
Human ResourcesR 16 377 709,00
Recreational FacilitiesR 13 779 205,00
Supply Chain ManagementR 13 291 595,00
Project Management UnitR 13 240 519,00
Community Halls and FacilitiesR 12 121 977,00
Water StorageR 10 923 832,00
Libraries and ArchivesR 10 753 636,00
Beaches and JettiesR 8 798 094,00
Sports Grounds and StadiumsR 7 431 010,00
Legal ServicesR 7 202 413,00
Economic Development/PlanningR 5 854 015,00
Fleet ManagementR 5 278 620,00
Corporate Wide Strategic Planning (IDPs, LEDs)R 4 407 383,00
Security ServicesR 4 064 454,00
Development FacilitationR 4 013 693,00
Governance FunctionR 3 956 235,00
TourismR 2 445 120,00
Public ToiletsR 2 238 306,00
Cemeteries, Funeral Parlours and CrematoriumsR 2 136 398,00
Street Lighting and Signal SystemsR 2 134 180,00
Road and Traffic RegulationR 2 083 826,00
Nature ConservationR 1 916 011,00
Marketing, Customer Relations, Publicity and Media Co-ordinationR 1 812 016,00
Risk ManagementR 1 179 669,00
Animal Care and DiseasesR 543 289,00
Asset ManagementR 305 325,00
RecyclingR 243 799,00
Aged CareR 723,00
Reporting & compliance

The audit record.

2023/24

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable
2022/23

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable
2021/22

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable
2019/20

Unqualified - No findings

Source link unavailable

An audit opinion assesses financial reporting and compliance. It does not certify service delivery or rule out all wrongdoing.

Trace each indicator

The evidence behind the view.

IndicatorReported valueWhat it tells youEvidence
Repairs and maintenance7,664%Audited annual repairs divided by reported property, plant, equipment and investment property. Reference 8%; ratios outside 0–100% need source review.
Cash coverage-2,71 monthsYear-end cash divided by one twelfth of audited annual operating expenditure. Reference 3 months.
Operating balance6,654%Revenue excluding capital transfers minus operating expenditure, divided by that revenue.